Still In the Trial

Yesterday and today was spent at Fox Chase having blood work and a CT scan done to see if the trial drug is working. Good news…. Dr. Denlinger said the scan is showing that the cancer is stable!  There’s no new growth.  Such great news to hear after a little bit of anxiety awaiting the results.

What this means is that I will stay in the clinical trial for another six-week cycle.  At the three week mark, I’ll be going through a lot of blood work to check on things like my liver and kidney functioning and the level of cancer cell activity.  At six weeks, there will be more blood work and another CT scan.  We are so hoping that the news at that time will be the same as we got today.

This cycle will involve taking the met-inhibitor drug each day.  Unlike the first cycle, no chemo will be administered since I developed the allergic reaction to cisplatin a couple of weeks ago.  This will be the longest period of time I’ll be off chemo since we began this journey a year ago. My cancer is aggressive so if there is any indication along the way that it’s acting up, Dr. Denlinger will run the tests to check into things.  If needed, I’ll be off to another type of treatment.

As we begin this next cycle, I ask for your continued prayers and positive energy.  Together, I believe we can stop the progression of this disease.

Finally, happy belated Easter and Spring.  Hope you had some wonderful times with family and friends over the past weekend and are enjoying the warmer days, colorful flowers, budding trees and other signs of Spring. 

Love to all, Lynn

 

14 responses

  1. HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY LYNN !!! Hope you enjoyed your day :)

  2. You are doing great! Keep fighting the good fight!! Know that yo are always in our thoughts.
    Love, Kelly & Bob

  3. Jim & Sonja MacWilliams | Reply

    Good news. That coupled with warmer weather should give lots of positive energy. Keep smiling. Laughter is the best medicine. Sig Eps are always ready to come mow the roof whether it needs it or not. Cheers.

  4. Lynn, you are in my prayers—love to you girl–you go!!

  5. Great news that you are able to continue the trial. You are always in my thoughts & prayers. Will touch base soon:)
    Carol

  6. Great news! We keep on praying!

  7. Nancy Kreisher | Reply

    So glad you got some positive news. I will continue to pray for you and send positive thoughts across Macungie keep up the good work. Love to all Nancy Kreisher

  8. This is such a great post to read, Lynn! Your strength, your family, your faith and all of the prayers of the community that surrounds you abounds… Sending you prayers from my heart and wishing new beginnings for you! With love and hugs, Anita

  9. stofanjm@airproducts.com | Reply

    Hi Lynn! This is amazing news!! I hope you and your family had a wonderful Easter and I will continue to send prayers your way! You are a true inspiration!
    Love,
    Joanie

  10. Patricia Barth | Reply

    Wow what fantastic news!! You go girl!!!!!! You and your family continue to be in my prayers.
    Love,
    Kevin and Pattie

  11. Hi Lynn: I was thrilled to hear your good news. glad to hear the prayers are being answered. Kathie

  12. Lynn – Sending prayers & good wishes. I know this must be a difficult path, but I also know you’re a very strong person. You go! God Bless…..

  13. Good news, Lynn. God has given you amazing strength and courage. You, and your family, are always in my thoughts and prayers. I hope this cycle goes well for you. Diane Geist

  14. Terry DeCristofano | Reply

    Hi Lynn: That is wonderful news!!! I have been praying all day and will continue storming heaven!
    Love,
    Terry & Bill

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

