A Year of Gratitude

It’s hard to believe but today marks one year since we learned I had cancer.  What was supposed to be a routine procedure to remove my gall bladder turned out to be anything but that.  If you’ve been through this either personally or with a loved one, you know how your world turns upside down in a split second.

Today, as I look back over these past 12 months, I find that I don’t remember the bad times as much as I remember the good ones.  I look at my life since April 14, 2013 and I am filled with gratitude for so many reasons.  The Team Lynn motto has been “Faith, Family, Friends” and each has played such a powerful part in getting me to my one-year anniversary.

 I will never find the words to thank Carl, Kristin, Kevin, Tay and my Mom for all they have done over the past 12 months as they’ve traveled with me down this challenging and unpredictable path. They have given so much of themselves to help me heal and stay confident that this disease is beatable. Carl has been my steadfast companion walking alongside me through it all. And, in his spare time, he has done everything humanly possible to understand this disease and our options for dealing with it. I am fortunate to also have an amazing extended family. Along with nonstop encouragement and support, they’ve connected us with doctors and information on clinical trials to help keep me moving forward.  The power of love and family has never meant more to me that it does today.

To our friends, thank you, thank you, thank you!!  Despite your busy schedules, you have been with us on this journey too. When I was so sick last Spring, you were there with dinners and countless offers of other help. Over these 12 months, your cards, notes, blog posts, visits, phone calls, etc. have let us know that we’re not alone in this battle. I was just reading through some of the messages and cards from last year…yes, I kept them.  They were so uplifting. Each one brought a smile to my face and a renewed commitment to keep on moving forward.

Finally, there’s faith. Yesterday, I was at a mass of healing at my church.  Monsignor Murphy said something that really impacted me.  He talked about us not always getting our first choice in life; sometimes we get something we don’t want.  But, that other option can turn out to be so positive.  As I thought about that, I realized how much I’ve gained and grown since my diagnosis.  I’ve grown in my faith.  I’ve gotten so much closer to God and I truly believe He is listening to my prayers and all the other prayers coming His way on my behalf.  (Thank you so much for keeping me and the rest of my family in your prayers). I’ve also gotten such a deeper appreciation for family and for friendships. For all that I’m eternally grateful.

So, as I finish up my one-year anniversary message, thank you from the bottom of my heart for being part of my team.  You have been a powerful source of inspiration, hope and joy. 

Love, Lynn

7 responses

  1. Julie and Don | Reply

    I can’t say it any better than any of these people! Your inner strength is so amazing. We continue to pray for you and your family and God’s grace. I cannot believe it has been a year. Keep up your positive attitude and conquer this beast Lynn! Love, Julie and Don

  2. We will continue to pray for you as you fight this battle. Your reflection of the year was encouraging and a true example of faith and determination to never give up. May you and your family have a wonderful Easter as you celebrate life and togetherness!

  3. Terry DeCristofano | Reply

    Lynn, you are truely an inspiration. Thank you for letting us all be a part of this unexpected
    journey of yours and your family. God’s continued blessings on you, Carl, Kristin, Kevin,
    and Tay this Easter and the coming year. Love, The DeCristofano’s

  4. Lynn, you have been on my mind non-stop for the past few days. I didn’t know the date of your diagnosis; I only knew it was April last year. Two weeks ago I went to the annual lecture at Cedar Crest College sponsored by Christian Science practitioners. I realize this is very different than our faith; but I learned from this lecture, and a few previous annual lectures, how God heals those who believe in his power to heal. Stay focused on that as you continue your journey. If you want to talk about this, call me. I’ll be happy to share some of the messages I have picked up through the years that have helped me.

  5. Lynn,

    It is hard to believe it has been a year since your diagnosis. Cancer I believe makes you slow down and see everything around you in a different light. Your faith and determination inspires everyone you touch.
    Kathie

  6. HI Lynn, it is hard to believe it has been a year since your diagnosis. You are a true inspiration and I admire how you and your family have navigated your journey. Remarkable…I do think of you often and I keep you in my thoughts and prayers. Keep up the fight and pushing forward. Wishing you the very best in your new treatment plan.

  7. We are always thinking and praying for you! You are truly an inspiration to all of us…your courage, streghth and patience. We send all our best wishes for a wonderful and blessed Easter to Carl and kids. It takes a great family and lots of great friends to get through this. Tina and Tom, NJ

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

