Latest Scan Results

Hi everyone,  I’ve been quiet for awhile as life has moved peacefully along as I’ve enjoyed my more ‘normal’ life with family and friends.  Friday, we met with my oncologist to review my latest CT scan. Unfortunately, the cancer is growing again which means the maintenance chemo is not effective.  The growth has not been aggressive and its still contained in my liver which was good to hear.  No lymph nodes or organs are involved.  Needless to say, not the news we were hoping for.  We knew that this road would be rocky but we’ll continue to fight on.

By the time we had the appointment, Dr. Agostino had already reached out to my two consulting oncologists at Memorial Sloan Kettering and Fox Chase.  Dr. Denlinger at Fox Chase told her that they are in the midst of a clinical trial that is showing some promising results for cholangiocarcenoma patients.  We’ll be seeing her on Monday, February 24, to talk further about the trial.  At this point, we don’t know if I meet the inclusion criteria but should know more by the end of that appointment.  I’ll be sure to let you know once we hear the results.

With a week reprieve from chemo, Carl and I are heading to Amelia Island, Florida, to spend a week with my mom.  I think God has interceded to make sure we could have a week to really rejuvenate. The forecast for the week is sunny and in the 70’s. Most of you can truly understand how absolutely delightful that sounds.  Leaving behind all this snow and cold for 7 days will be awesome!

In closing, as we move down this path, I ask for your continued prayers and positive energy not only for me but for Carl, Kristin, Kevin, Tay, my mom and the rest of our family. Their strength and support continues to inspire me to keep on moving forward. I know I couldn’t do this without them by my side. And to all of you, thank you so much for your friendship, support, care and concern.  Each message, card, call, email reminds me how blessed I am with the people I have around me.

Love, Lynn

11 responses

  1. Terry DeCristofano | Reply

    Hi Lynn: We are so glad that you and Carl were able to get out of this cold and to warm
    sunny weather. You are all always close in thought & prayer!
    Love,
    Terry & Bill

  2. Love, thoughts and prayers are being sent your way. We hope you are relaxing and enjoying the warmth and sun in Florida…a nice way to rejuvinate before this next leg of your journey. You have a wonderful network of family and friends to lean on as you continue to fight. All the best to you all.
    Julie and Don

  3. Hope you are enjoying Florida, out of all this cold. Glad to know you are fighting strong and hard, no matter what the tests results may be. Always thinking about you. Know we are always here for you and the family.

  4. Sending love and support as you continue this battle. Glad you and Carl got away for a while. Sunshine on your face will do wonders….Enjoy!!!

  5. Hi Lynn
    I think of you often every time I drive by your neighborhood. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your whole family as you continue your fight. Love to all. Nancy Kreisher.

  6. Hi Lynn, I’m glad you and Carl are getting away for some rest and warmth in sunny Florida. The Cardoso’s are sending prayers, positive energy, and love to you, Carl, Kristin, Kevin, Tay, your mom, Scott, Julie and family. Have a safe trip and give your mom a hug from all of us! Love you so much, Ellen

  7. bcjdunn@gmail.com | Reply

    Dear Lynn, Carl & family – we are sorry to hear the latest but we will continue to keep you in our prayers. You have been beating the cancer so far and we will keep praying for strength to keep up the battle. We love you guys!

  8. Well, that isn’t the news we all were hoping for, is it! Continuing to pray for you as you run this race toward healing. It’s a marathon, not a sprint; and the finish line is still around a few curves and not in sight. Sometimes it’s the unexpected changes of direction that ultimately lead us to the things we need for success, blessing, and healing. We keep running with faith that the finish line lies ahead and that good things await us. Holding you all in our hearts and knowing that you are headed in the right direction. Will visualize you wrapped in healing light and letting the ocean breeze blow winter away for a week. May you be renewed.

    Love, Pam, Mark, and Ivy

  9. Lynn: So sorry to hear this. I will keep you in my prayers. Diane Geist

  10. Karen Richardson | Reply

    Continuing to keep you in our prayers, Lynn. The good news is that the lymph nodes are not affected. Praying to the good Lord to allow you into the trial program. God Bless. Love, Jeff and Karen

  11. Hi Lynn and Family Prayers for EVERYONE ! I just returned from Florida and the weather was beautiful. Praying that it will be a peaceful happy week and that you will return ready to continue the fight. I pray that God will open the doors for you to get into this new clinical trial.

    xooxxooxoxoxo (special hugs for Kristin from me and Bri)

    Susan Gauthier

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

