Drivers Beware!

Hi everyone!

For those of you in the Lehigh Valley…. beware!…. I got my driving privileges back!  After almost 6 months of being chauffeured by my wonderful family, I can now drive.  I can’t tell who’s happier.., me or them.  (Just kidding.  They have been ever willing to take me wherever I wanted or needed to go).  After a few trips around town, I don’t think I’ve forgotten the rules of the road so you won’t be in too much jeopardy!

On the medical side of things, all the prayers, positive energy and well wishes have paid off.  I made it through the first phase of treatment for cholangiocarcenoma.  As of last Tuesday, I finished 16 infusions with the chemo treatment that’s the preferred protocol for treating this cancer. According to my oncologist here, I’m her first patient to make it through!  This Friday, the 18th, will be a CT scan to see how things are progressing.  The following Thursday, the 24th, we’ll be meeting with my doctor here to see the results and discuss the next steps in my treatment.  She is going to connect with my oncologist at Memorial Sloan Kettering to talk things through before we get together so whatever we hear will reflect his thoughts, too.  We’ll also reconnect with the oncologist at Fox Chase who we’ve come to respect tremendously.

Hopefully, the cancer will be out of my lymph nodes and the next stage of treatment can be more liver-directed.  So far, everyone has talked about continuing with maintenance chemo.  Whether or not that’s along with or after liver-directed treatment remains to be seen.  I’ll keep you posted.  One thing I have truly realized through this journey is that whatever will keep me alive is worth it.  Life is so beautiful.

So, to all of you, thank you for our friendship  and continuing to hold me in your thoughts and prayers.  The cards, texts, phone calls, visits, blog posts help remind me how blessed I am to have you in my life.

Please keep those prayers, positive energy and well wishes coming. We’re about to start Phase 2 of the battle!

Love and hugs to all,

Lynn

14 responses

  1. Bill and Nora DeCristofano | Reply

    On the road again?!?! Such good news! You always got us to CCD safe and on time and I trust that those driving skills are still intact. Our prayers and positive vibrations go out to you and the family. Love, Billy & Nora :)

  2. Congrats on regaining your license!! So glad to hear you’ve made it through all the treatments of phase one. Hope to hear phase two will be what you want. Your strength is never ending. Well wishes to you:).

  3. Great news Lynn! We will keep praying for positive news from phase 2!

  4. Jim & Sonja MacWilliams | Reply

    Super duper!

  5. Wonderful news!!! Sending our thoughts and prayers that good things continue. Hope to see you all soon down at the beach. Lots of love, Kevin and Pattie

  6. Terry DeCristofano | Reply

    Hi Lynn:

    Great news!!!! Glad you are back behind the wheel again. You are truly an inspiration. Our continued thoughts and prayers are with you, Carl, Kristin, Kevin & Tay.
    God Bless all of you!!!
    Love,
    Terry & Bill

  7. Lynn –
    Congratulations on gaining a little freedom! I’m sure you are feeling a bit like a 16 year old who got the keys to mom and dad’s car! I am so glad to hear your positive news. Your strength and spirit are so inspiring. Please keep us updated.
    Many prayers!

  8. So glad to hear good news for you. We are praying for you always and you and your entire family are always in our thoughts. Love you all. Rock

  9. Oh Lynn, This is truly wonderful news! Hey while you are on the road can you pick up a gallon of milk for me? hahahaha….
    We will keep you in our prayers! Hugs and kisses! XXXOOO
    Ted, Beth, Ted, Christy and Katie

  10. WOO HOO!!! Stay off the sidewalks…she’s back! That’s great news, Lynn. Doing a happy dance over here and celebrating with you.

    Continuing to pray and send you love and healing light.

    Pam

  11. Lynn,
    I pray for you everyday. Your positive attitude and deep faith are so important. Every time I read an update I pray just a little more. You are deeply loved by so many and proof that pray is powerful.
    John and I talk about you often and are here for whatever you may need. Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.

    It has been so long since we have seen you, but I can always see your beautiful smile in my mind’s eye.

    My best to Carl and your family. I know how important they have been in this journey.

    I was happy to hear you were enjoying the peace of the ocean and the gifts we so often
    forget.

    Enjoy your new freedom behind the wheel.

    Best wishes and continued healing,
    Kathie

  12. Great news, Lynn. So glad things are moving in the right direction. Diane Geist

  13. Awesome news! Crying tears of joy as I am reading this! God Bless!

  14. GREAT NEWS!!!
    Ellen and I send all our love and power to you and Carl and family!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

