Catching Up

Hi Everyone,

In my last post, I wrote that  we were heading to Memorial Sloan Kettering in NYC to meet with my medical oncologist there, Dr. Ku.  Here’s a quick update….   Carl, Kristin, Kevin and I met with him on Friday, July 12.  Like my doctor here, he was very pleased with the progress I’ve been making with the prescribed chemotherapy.  Based on this success, he feels my care plan should continue as it is. While I’ll always hope for a miracle to stop the cancer, absent one, I’m so thankful that the treatments are working.

We asked Dr. Ku about next steps after chemo. He shared that there are a number of different options that can be taken.  However, he was reluctant to get into any details.  Rather, it’s a topic for the future.  In the meantime, I’ll continue down the same path I’ve been on… two weeks of chemo followed by a week off for 9 weeks.  Why tamper with success? :-)

Last week was my second infusion in this second cycle.  It went really well with not many side effects.  Hope this trend continues.  We’ve been trying to figure out what changes I might have made with my diet so we can make this a regular occurrence. Sure would be nice!

One of the best ways to stay on the road to recovery is spending time with family and friends.  Last week was a glorious one for that reason… celebrated my birthday. Thanks so much for the cards, flowers, messages, gifts, visits, surprise get-together, etc.  What an amazing day it was!   Carl, Kristin and I even went to the movies to see The Heat – very funny, by the way.  Later that night, Kevin surprised us with a visit home which capped a marvelous day.

As in earlier posts, I want to make sure I thank you for everything you are doing for me… the prayers, the well-wishes,  the comments on this blog, etc. are helping me heal.  Your support and strength is flowing back my way.  Thanks for everything.

Love, Lynn

 

10 responses

  1. Jennifer Hoffman | Reply

    Good to hear Aunt Lynn. Love you so much

  2. Marcia McClellan | Reply

    Hi Lynn,
    You’re amazing! I can see you pulling thru this…and teaching me how to post on your blog at the same time! 3 years ago I didn’t know what a blog was! Keep up the spirit! Lot of love to you, Carl, Kristin, and Kevin! Marcia, Lauren, Aaron

  3. Dear Lynn, Happy Belated Birthday !!
    I havve not commented lately, the summer has been flying by..I enjoy reading your posts and hearing that you are doing everything the doctor suggests and continue to fight this battle. Miracles do happen !! It is nice you are getting out and enjoying your time with family. You are blessed with many well wishers, fabulous husband and kids. You take care.
    Love, Deana

  4. Lynn: Thank you for taking the time to keep us informed. So glad that you had a wonderful birthday. It is great to hear that your current treatment is working. You are always in my thoughts and prayers. Diane Geist

  5. Heather Miller | Reply

    Hi Lynn,
    I’m glad to hear that that things are moving in the right direction & that you’re feeling better with each day. Family, friends, love & laughter can sometimes be a powerful medicine too! Sending positive thoughts & prayers your way.
    Love,
    Heather

  6. Lynn,
    So glad you had a great birthday with the family!! That’s always the best!!! Thanks for the update….thrilled to hear things are going well. You’re always in my thoughts and prayers. Sending all our love….
    Kevin and Pattie

  7. So happy to hear the good news Lynn! You are always in our thoughts. One of these days, if we can stop passing these summer colds back and forth, we will be over to see you! Keep the positive thoughts and get plenty of rest! Love, Julie and Don

  8. Karen Richardson | Reply

    Such wonderful news, Lynn. Staying positive and strong is the best thing. You are so blessed with such a wonderful group of family and friends. Know that we continue to pray for you all. Karen and Jeff

  9. Terry DeCristofano | Reply

    Hi Lynn: Thank you so much for keeping us updated. Glad to hear you celebrated a Happy Birthday. You and your family are always very close to us in our thoughts & prayers. May the peace of Christ be with you!
    Love,
    Terry & Bill

  10. Take care and get plenty of rest…thoughts and prayers are always being lifted up in your name. Tina and Tom, NJ

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

